For Episode 1, Click HERE

school

The loud bang on our door jerked me up and I never realized it was one of the ‘Seniors’ who was responsible for doing that.

I don’t think I had a good sleep though since I wasn’t even happy to be in the school, but I know what I heard or thought I heard.

The Senior girl was Yelling..

“Junior girls, before I count ro 10, none of you must be here…, to the bathroom!”

1, 2, 3, 4, 5,……………..

And that was when the rushing began and I saw everyone running helter skelter, buckets of water spilling as their owners hurriedly pulled them from underneath the bed. Soap cases and sponges, together with toothpastes on brushes.

Sometimes, all you need do is carry the whole pack of soap, sponge, toothpaste and brush all together or probably let the sponge float in your bucket of water.

I don’t know if that was a strategy to prevent people from stealing your water or just to reduce the rushing schedule in the morning.

And so, I rushed along, though a little confused with the way things were happening so fast and that was when I realized we were going to have our bath outside the building.

Now that’s cold.

I don’t know if it was the fact that we had to mash up together and bathe in all corners of the concrete slab where the bucket of water was. I mean, you had to put it on the slab so as to prevent the water splashing from the person next to you from spilling inside.

And it was much more comfortable anyway.

This was happening around 4-5am in the morning. I can’t really remember.

You just had to find a way to fix your bucket someplace and bathe. But make sure it’s not close to a Senior.

I started having my bathe and then the counting began to leave and run back to the room to dress up.

I think that’s the time the Seniors preferred to have their bath.

Seniors Had Categories anyway.

And so, the rushing to bathe and hurry back into the junior dormitory to dress up before they caught up with you was another thing I had to deal with.

I don’t know if I ever fell short  during my stay in the school but I know If you remained after 10, you’re told to kneel on the floor or you probably get flogged.

The one I witnessed was the one where we were told to cut grass when we returned.

And so, I tried to avoid all those morning terrors. Somehow it probably made one feel that day is going to be good for you because there was still so much more to happen.

I hurried back into the dormitory and then another counting phase began with the banging on the door.

“10, 9, 8, 7, 6…..’

I later learned that you should have your things prepared by the time you’re returning from the bathroom because most of us had to run outside with our under-wears and creams and sandals and hair comb and whatever it is.

Just pray you’re not caught unaware and get to run outside naked because once you’re outside, you’re not returning into the dormitory but off to your morning duty while the corridor sweepers are told to sweep on you if you remain inside till the last number was called.

Sometimes, you could get flogged. The bush where sticks?cane were obtained from wasn’t that far from my dorm.

As for me, I can’t really remember what I ran outside with.

