Though I’ve always wanted to make my movie list, I didn’t get to see so many movies come 2013. In fact, it’s like my love for movies began to depreciate as the years passed by.

I remember there was a time I could start ranting about movies and keep talking about how well the movie was…, etc.

These days, I guess I’m more interested in the Director, Screen play, and all ‘the behind the scenes skills.

I don’t know if watching the Oscars influenced this but I’m starting to appreciate a good plot. Some movies have good storyline, good plot and this 2 can always back up a bad cast I believe. But if the plot was bad and then you have a bad assemble cast, then it’s not going to help matters.

When I say my Top 10 of ALL TIME, I mean the MOVIES that I watched and even till date, I wouldn’t mind watching. Yes, I have my movie collection which I like to add one or two movies that qualify stacked up into my computer.

This is inclusive of action, comedy, romance and drama.

Watch out for my Top 10 animation, Top Christmas movies, Top Ten funny/humor filled movies, Top Sci-fi and My Top Action, that I’ve watched in times past and I can’t stop watching.

My List goes thus

10. The Avengers(2012)

avengers_background_12

Avengers Assemble!!

When I heard Josh Whedon(aka Buffy the vampire slayer director) was going to direct My precious ‘Marvel’ characters assembling together to fight the bad guys, I was like huh? seriously?

Just so you know, I wasn’t a buffy fan and after a while, I just stopped watching it.

But he didn’t disappoint because I’m aware the Director has the final say. Even if the script is good, the director is the one that will manipulate it in the way it should go. He’s the one in charge. He’s the one who calls the shots and he delivered.

And Hulk…., Hulk just had to steal the show!! He was just superb!! Like, people were just screaming everywhere in the Cinemas the day I watched it. That’s how good it was.

I like the fact that during the movie, too much time wasn’t spent on a particular character. Each character, Captain America, Black Widow, Iron man, Thor, Hawk eye and Hulk all had equal parts and they delivered as well with a little dose of humour.

And Loki…, Loki is what I call baddest guy.

I loved the movie because I could feel the emotion.

9. Real Steel(2011)

real steel

What do you expect from a Stephen Spielberg movie? Action and Artificial Intelligence with a good actor like Hugh Jackman. I liked the way I felt so much for the Robot, it was just a robot and I felt so much when he was being beaten by his counterparts in a boxing match. I love the intelligence behind it. I like the fact that it’s a family movie, and the boy who owned the robot was so confident and had faith in what he had.

Applying it to reality, if someone can have faith in a robot, how much more when God says you should trust him?

 

 

8 Karate Kid (1986)

karate

Two statements

Defend yourself

Mr Miyagi

I liked it because it was something I watched while growing up. It’s old but i think it’s way better than the modern version of Jaden Smith and Jackie Chan. This movie made me understand what Karate kid meant but I prefer part 2 though.

It was those days when we grew up watching VHS aka Cassettes before the CDs came in.

Don’t worry, I’m not that old..LOL

 

 

7. Indiana Jones: The temple of doom;(1984)

indiana

I just love adventure with a dash of romance and examples include Lord of the Rings, The Mummy, Stardust etc. But I had to pick Indiana Jones because Harrison Ford did justice to this movie. Its been so long and I can still remember so many parts vividly. I remember the temple where he was kidnapped with a boy and a woman, I remember how he was so brave to fight the ritualists and how it’s almost like this guy is actually walking into his death. I enjoyed it because it had a great theme song just like STAR WARS

 

 

6.Taken (2008)

TAKEN Liam NEESON

Anybody who has seen Taken won’t argue with me. If you’re still arguing with me, It means you haven’t seen the movie.

That’s the kind of father a girl prays for right? Someone who would do anything and search everywhere because his daughter has been kidnapped for sex trafficking. I mean this guy was determined to eliminate anything that stood in his way. I felt his pain. I felt his emotion and I was so angry when I realized that the more time wasted, the chances of never seeing his daughter again. Gosh! So much emotion. This film was just the best. Liam Neeson is now in my superhero list.

If there’s any movie I love the quotes, it’s this one:

Bryan Mills: I don’t know who you are. I don’t know what you want. If you’re looking for ransom, I can tell you I don’t have money but what I do have are a very particular set of skills. Skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now, that will be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don’t, I will look for you, I will find you and I will kill you.

Later in the movie when he finds some of the guys involved:

Bryan Mills: By the way, which one of you is Marko?

Marko: We are all Marko.

Bryan Mills: Marko, from Tropoja.

Marko: We are all from Tropoja…

Bryan Mills: …If that’s the game you want to play the rates just went up ten percent

Bryan Mills: You don’t remember me? We spoke on the phone…I told you I would find you. [goes on to kick 5 different Marco’s butts)

Nice one Liam!!

 

 

5. John Q

johnq

Have you ever been desperate for something before and you had no choice but to bring out a gun and force the doctors to obey your orders because your son’s life is at stake? I pray not and I hope not. This movie moved me to tears and it was a beautiful movie because though there were so many sad parts but at the end, it was wonderful.

 

And wanna know the best part? Denzel Washington! That guy is just the bomb!

 

Quotes I loved:

John Q. Archibald: My son is dying and I’m broke. If I don’t qualify for Medicare, who the hell does?

John Q. Archibald: I am not going to bury my son! My son is going to bury me!

Mike Archibald: No goodbye, you know I don’t like goodbyes. See you later!

Kimberly Elise is also a good actress. She played his wife in the movie and It was a lovely movie. If you haven’t seen it, please do.

 

 

4. Gentlemen, we have a tie here: Enchanted(2008) and Tangled(2011)

Enchanted starred Amy Adams and Patrick Dempsey while Tangled was a 3D animation with voices of Mandy Moore and Zachary Levi.

tangled_wallpaper_05

Tangled was a re-telling of Rapunzel’s story but much more funny and exciting where so much had been added but it still came out nice. I remember going all the way to the cinemas insisting I wanted to watch Tangled and convinced my friends they wouldn’t regret it since I’d done a little research over it so that we don’t waste our money…wink*

I was the movie guru back then in school.

Enchanted

Enchanted was a nice movie with Amy transporting from a cartoon world to real life and facing reality rather than all the sing- alongs and unreality cartoons portrayed. I remember my brother getting tired of the movie by the time he got to the middle and saw things were not going to turn out his way but I sat still and ogled the thing till the end.

It was a nice and funny watch and James Marsden can act. He’s such a prolific actor that fits into any role. The same guy that played Prince Charming was the same as Cyclops in X-men.

 

 

3.Sound of Music (1965)

Doe/Do…a deer, a female deer

Ray/Re.. a drop of golden sun

Me…..      a name, I call myself

Far/Fa..  a long long way to run

Sew/So.. a needle pulling thread

La..          a note to follow So

Tea…      a drink with Jam and bread

And that will bring us back to Do

and so on…
Sound_of_music

I watched Sound of Music while I was little and I’ve not been able to get it out of my head since then. The songs, the beautiful love story of Governess Maria falling in love with Captain Vontrap and the 7 mischievous children. I remember singing My favorite things(Girls with white dresses with blue satin sashes, snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes…) I just had to get the movie because it’s a CLASSIC!

Those who have watched it will agree with me. I remember reading a FILM Magazine and seeing 5 stars on it hereby identifying it as one of those rare classic films of all time.

 

 

2.It’s  A Wonderful Life (1946)

george bailey

Two things I need to tell you about this movie…

a) It’s so old it’s in black and white

b) It will make you cry

I remember catching a glimpse of the Spanish version while I was watching Home Alone. I love this movie and I see why it’s one of America’s most inspirational movie till date and I’m convinced it’s not just a white thing. It’s one of the most inspiring and beautiful movies I’ve ever watched and I want to watch it again when I do have the time. It teaches so many lessons, It teaches about sacrificial love and honesty.

George Bailey was just a good man. It teaches how much it pays to be good.

Infact, it leaves me speechless and made me cry. Why can’t we have more movies like this?

Here’s the colored movie poster though it comes in black and white.

it-s-a-wonderful-life-its-a-wonderful-life-9644956-1920-1080

 

 

1.A Walk to Remember(2002)

a walk to remember

Another movie that made me weep like a baby was A Walk to Remember and that’s part of the reason why I like steering Clear of Nicholas Sparks books(Author of A message in a bottle, The Notebook, The bend in the road etc) because all those stories are just sad and they’ll just make one cry.

And then the Chemistry between Mandy Moore and Shane West felt so real I thought they must be dating or something. The film just made me sober after watching it and the fact that it was based on a true life story. Nicholas Spark’s Sister. That made me wonder the kind of love that man is capable of.

All in all, the two actors pulled it off. It was a beautiful movie which I’m not willing to part with even though it’s been a while I watched it.

I know I enjoyed watching some other movies and If I was to Start my countdown from 50 just like my friend at Lagsreviews, then many more like Lord of the Rings, Home Alone, Face Off etc will have taken their place.

But right now, here’s my Top 10 movies of all time.

What’s yours? How many movies have you watched or enjoyed watching ever since your childhood till now?

Please use the comment box below. Would really love to hear from you. Even if it’s just 3 or 4.

Thank you.

Much love. xo!

P.S:Daviruz of Movie Reviews, you did not inspire this post before you start thinking you did..sticks tongue out# I’ve always wanted to post my top movies since I had done this post somewhere else long ago but thanks for the push though after reading your blog. 🙂

